Big Bear Cookies

15 Aug

This is one "Papa Bear" cookie, about as big as my hand. It will probably take 5 cups of tea to finish him.

For a first post, this quite fittingly contains four things I LOVE.

1.) Bears:
The bear is the noblest of creatures! Not to mention, my boyfriend, sister and I are all bears, having graduated from a university with the bear as their mascot!

2.) Big Bear:
… Is one of the few skiing spots in So Cal, where it was tradition for my family to go for a couple days every winter. While learning to “make a pie, make a pie!!!” with my skis was frustrating in the beginning, after a couple trips, skiing quickly became one of my favorite pastimes. Big Bear is a wonderful place to make great family memories to cherish forever.

3.) Chocolate (and lots of it!)
Self-explanatory?

4.) These beautiful people I get to travel with for the next few days!
Yes, I am leaving tomorrow with two families that I adore on a journey to the mountains! With this group of people, a trip inevitably means delicious food, belly-aching laughs, and an overflow of love. There’s nothing else I could ask for.

“Big Bear” Cookies
2 sticks (1 c.) of Unsalted butter at Room Temperature
1 1/4 c. Granulated sugar
2 Eggs
1/2 c. Cocoa powder
2 1/4 c. Flour (I used all-purpose)
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 tsp. Baking powder
1 tbsp. Corn starch
2 1/2 c. (or as they say in Nor Cal, HELLA) Semisweet chocolate chips

Oooh baby...

Preheat your oven to 350 F

  1. Cream the butter and sugar together in a stand mixer or with a handheld mixer until light and fluffy.
  2. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each.
  3. Beat the cocoa into the mixture.
  4. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, and corn starch. Or stir haphazardly, like me.

    "Baby Bear," smaller-sized cookies

  5. Mix the dry ingredients into the batter until JUST combined. Mixing too much after addition of flour releases gluten proteins from the wheat, which causes your baked goods to become tough. This structure-lending process is good for baking breads, but not for a delicate cookie. :)
  6. Mix in the chocolate chips. This might have been a bit too much for my poor handheld mixer, so I put my biceps to use and did it with a spatula.

    "Mama Bear," medium-sized cookies

  7. Place lumps of cookie dough on a cookie sheet and bake! Depending on how big you make your cookies, the baking time can vary. In my (weird, crazy, psycho) oven, I baked the Papa Bear (biggest) cookies for about 20 minutes. They were flexible when I took them out, but not wet in the middle. The Mama Bear cookies took about 17 minutes, and the Baby Bear cookies took 15.

I am bringing these cookies along for everyone to eat on the trip. Our pancreatic beta cells are going to be working overtime. ;)

4 Responses to “Big Bear Cookies”

  1. Kristine Pham August 25, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    Yum! Can’t wait to tell my friends!!!

  2. Tiffany Gee August 15, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

    pancreatic beta cells….you would. ;P

    and it looks yummy!! might try this recipe this weekend!

    • Tia October 25, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      just wanted to say a few things – these would be gobbled up at my son’s soccer practice for sure!!! also, read your bio and we share a lot of similarities – love food/blogging, both 5’6″, both despise mayo :)
      keep blogging! you are so pretty by the way.

      • Ann October 25, 2011 at 4:44 pm #

        Aw Tia you are so sweet and kind, thank you! :) I’m doing my best to keep up the blog, even though sometimes the posts can be far between!

Leave a Comment!

